The building at Bognergasse 5 was originally occupied by a spice shop, which the owner, Johan Baptist Cameel, who purchased the business in 1618, called “Zum Schwarzen Kameel” – which explains the second “e” in the name. The premises is also still known to some as “Zum Stiebitz”, which refers to a owner two hundred years later who opened a wine tavern here to supplement the spice trade. Today, the “Kameel” remains what it has always been: a favourite meeting place for an illustrious and mixed set of patrons: from Viennese celebrities to tourists who want to experience the wonderful ambience of the original art-nouveau interior.
The present owners, the Friese family, operate a formidable restaurant with am attached delicatessen featuring a large number of their own products. Legendary is the hand-sliced ham, customarily enjoyed here with horseradish, black bread, and a glass of wine. A more elegant dining experience is offered by the restaurant, of course, where superbly prepared classics of Viennese and international cuisine are served under the watchful eye of Maître Johann Georg Gensbichler. And the ideal accompaniment is sure to be found in the restaurant’s cellar, which contains some 800 first-rate wines from Austria and abroad.www.kameel.at